City Council elects mayor, vice mayor

December 4, 2018

Copeland, Gentges elected to top seats

Bartlesville City Councilors were sworn in to office Monday at the beginning of the council’s regularly scheduled December meeting — the first of the new two-year term.

All five council members were sworn in by City Attorney Jerry Maddux, immediately after which council members elected Ward 1 Councilor Dale Copeland mayor and Ward 4 Councilor Alan Gentges vice mayor. Council members nominate and vote to elect the mayor and vice mayor at the beginning of each term.

The council then proceeded with regular business, approving contract work for eight new 100-foot light poles at Daniels Soccer and Cricket Fields, and an ordinance governing growers and processors of medical marijuana. The council also appointed Finance Director Jason Muninger as the City treasurer.

Just prior to the council meeting, a reception was held to honor outgoing City Attorney Jerry Maddux and Ward 2 Councilor John J. Kane. Maddux will retire from the City effective Jan. 1, 2019, after 43 years of service. He will continue his private law practice in Bartlesville. Kane did not seek re-election to the Ward 2 seat during the filing period earlier this year.

Above: Outgoing Ward 2 Councilor John J. Kane, left, and City Attorney Jerry Maddux were recognized during a reception held prior to the City Council meeting. Maddux will retire from the City in January 2019. Kane did not seek re-election.
Below: Maddux administers the Oath of Office to Bartlesville City Councilors on Monday.