City Government 

City Hall 2
City Hall is located at 401 S. Johnstone Ave., in downtown Bartlesville. Hours of operations are 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday.

Bartlesville is a charter city with a council/manager form of government. The city manager oversees all City operations and is responsible for all departments and employees, with the exception of the City’s attorney, municipal judge and treasurer, which, along with the city manager, are appointed directly by the City Council.

The City of Bartlesville consists of 24 departments, 18 of which are financed through the General Fund. Six are Enterprise Funds. General Fund departments are those that essentially make up the general operations of the City, including the two largest, Police and Fire, as well as Streets, Parks and Recreation, Engineering and Community Development. Enterprise Funds include Utilities, Refuse and Recycling, Fleet Maintenance and IT.

City Hall

City Hall is located at 401 Johnstone Ave., in the heart of downtown Bartlesville. Offices are open from 8 a.m. until 5 p.m. Monday through Friday, but are closed on most holidays. (See 2019 Holiday Calendar.) For an interactive map of streets and other features of Bartlesville go to GIS City Maps.

Utility bills may be paid on the first floor of City Hall during regular business hours, or may be be paid online. Payments may also be left in the drop box outside the building.

Offices located at City Hall include the City Manager’s Office, Human Resources, Community Development, Engineering, and Communications. The Bartlesville Area History Museum is located on the fifth floor.

Some City operations are located elsewhere, including some functions of the Utility Services Department and the Public Works Department, as well as Police Department, located at 615 S. Johnstone Ave., and four fire stations, which are strategically located throughout the city. The White Rose Cemetery, located at 804 W. 11th Street, Adams Golf Club at 5801 Tuxedo Boulevard, and the Bartlesville Public Library, located at 600 S. Johnstone, are also departments of the City of Bartlesville.

The City of Bartlesville is funded primarily by sales tax revenues, which is currently 8.9 percent. Of the total, the City receives three percent of the revenues — two and one-half percent for operations, one-half of one percent for Capital Improvements Projects, and one-quarter of one percent for economic development.

City Council

The City Council consists of five members — one from each ward of the city — who are elected every two years by the voters in their ward. While each member must reside in the ward they represent, the mayor and vice mayor are selected by the sitting council during the first meeting of each term. Council members, including those serving as mayor and vice mayor, do not receive a salary but are paid a modest stipend to cover minor expenses.

Currently, Bartlesville’s City Councilors are:

Mayor Dale Copeland, Ward 1

Vice Mayor Alan Gentges, Ward 4

Paul Stuart, Ward 2

Jim Curd Jr., Ward 3

Trevor Dorsey, Ward 5

City Council meetings are held the first Monday of each month at City Hall, 401 Johnstone Ave. The meetings are open to the public, and anyone may attend.

Municipal Codes are available online.

Election Dates and Deadlines provided by Washington County Election Board

Contact City Government


Mike Bailey
City Manager